bjj canada
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for the practitioners of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu to share advice on training, equipment, etc. So that we can all become better.

HomePortalLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Back rolls

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Big E

Back rolls Empty
PostSubject: Back rolls   Back rolls Icon_minitimeTue Feb 01, 2011 10:57 pm

I am new to BJJ and am wondering what the point of backrolls are? Is it something I need to concentrate on? I have difficulty doing them.
Back to top Go down
BjjBenoit
Admin
BjjBenoit

Back rolls Empty
PostSubject: Re: Back rolls   Back rolls Icon_minitimeWed Feb 02, 2011 3:12 am

They are a good warm up and a fundemental escape from various submissions. Don't get discouraged you will get it eventually just keep at it.
Back to top Go down
https://bjjcanada.canadian-forum.com
GirlJitsu

GirlJitsu

Back rolls Empty
PostSubject: Re: Back rolls   Back rolls Icon_minitimeWed Feb 02, 2011 1:00 pm

As we go into more advanced techniques, the back rolls will be useful for sure! Like Bjjbenoit mentioned, rolling is great for escaping tricky positions like omoplata - well, you do a front roll out of that, but it's the same sort of principle.

I definitely know where you're coming from though. When I first started doing BJJ, I hadn't done back rolls since kindergarten. I'm not even kidding!!! Even after a few months, I could only do it on one side (my right) and not on the other. A really useful tip I learned was to stick out your arm to the side you are rolling on, and then pretend like it's the axle of a wheel and you are just rolling around it. Go slow with the roll, take your time and soon I promise you will "get" it. Smile
Back to top Go down
tantantanuki

tantantanuki

Back rolls Empty
PostSubject: Re: Back rolls   Back rolls Icon_minitimeThu Apr 14, 2011 10:35 pm